Music Faculty

The Music Program faculty includes many musicians and
historians who are preeminent in their particular discipline.

College President Leon Botstein, Leon Levy Professor in the Arts
and Humanities, is conductor and music director of the American
Symphony Orchestra and conductor laureate of the Jerusalem
Symphony Orchestra, as well as a prominent music historian
and editor of The Musical Quarterly. Both Joan Tower, a four-time  Grammy Award winner and member of the American Academy of  Arts and Letters, and George Tsontakis have received the coveted  Grawemeyer Award for composition.


Other luminaries on the faculty include James Bagwell, one of the leading choral conductors in the United States; tenor Rufus Müller, whose unique interpretation of the role of the Evangelist in Bach’s Passions has confirmed him as one of the world’s most sought-after classical vocalists; Kyle Gann, a composer whose critical essays on new music for the Village Voice and other publications have greatly increased its visibility and acceptance; cellist Luis Garcia-Renart, who studied with Pablo Casals; jazz percussionist and bandleader Thurman Barker; and Marka Gustavsson of the Colorado Quartet.

Music Program faculty includes:

Private Lessons: